32nd International IBBY Congress - 32º Congreso Internacional de IBBY

The strenght of minorities - A forza das minorías - La fuerza de las minorías

What are IBBY Congresses > OEPLI: Spanish IBBY section

OEPLI: Spanish IBBY section


The Spanish section of IBBY known as OEPLI, Organización Española para el Libro Infantil y Juvenil (Spanish Organization for Children and Young People’s Literature) was formally constituted on the 27th of July 1982. It is a non-profit organization responsible for the execution and coordination of all types of promotional activity relating to children’s books and literature, in addition to representing Spain at IBBY. The current President is María Jesús Gil. OEPLI is divided into the following four area sections, which represent the linguistic and cultural diversity of Spain.


The Castilian section: Consejo General del Libro Infantil y Juvenil (General Board on Children’s and Young People’s Books), placed in Madrid. Initially called Sección de Madrid, it was created on the 27th of July 1982. In 1999 it changed to Consejo General del Libro Infantil y Juvenil and encompasses all the Castilian speaking communities. It comprises the Asociación Española de Amigos del Libro Infantil y Juvenil, the Cámara del Libro of Madrid, the Asociación Profesional de Ilustradores of Madrid and the Fundación Germán Sánchez Ruipérez. José Luis Cortés is its current President.


The Catalan section: Consell Català del Llibre per a Infants i Joves (Catalan Board on Children’s and Young People’s Books), placed in Barcelona. Federation of non-profit associations or entities, formed in Barcelona on the 5th of May 1982, aimed at promoting and disseminating books and reading. It comprises the following bodies: Associació Catalana d’Amics del Llibre Infantil i Juvenil (ACALI), Associació d’Editors del País Valencià, Associació d’Editors en Llengua Catalana, Associació d’Escriptors en Llengua Catalana (AELC), Associació Professional d’Il·lustradors de Catalunya (APIC), Cambra del Llibre de Catalunya, Servei de Documentació de Literatura Infantil i Juvenil (SDLIJ). Biblioteca Xavier Benguerel, Consorci de Biblioteques de Barcelona, Institut Català de les Indústries Culturals (ICIC). Col·legi Oficial de Bibliotecaris - Documentalistes de Catalunya (COBDC), Generalitat de Catalunya, Departament d’Educació de la Generalitat de Catalunya (SEDEC), Gremi de Llibreters de Barcelona i Catalunya, Fundació Bromera per al Foment de la Lectura, Gremi d’Editors de Catalunya. The current President is Marta Vilagut.


The Galician section: Asociación Galega do Libro Infantil e Xuvenil (Galician Association of Children’s and Young People’s Books). This non-profit organization was created on the 14th of January 1989, aimed at defending and promoting the Galician language and culture through children’s and young people’s literature. Gathering, instigating, programming and executing initiatives which set out to promote children’s and young people’s books and represent Galicia in national or international organizations, with all the responsibilities and duties that entails. It is composed of different sectors related to children’s and young people’s literature: teachers, librarians, writers, illustrators, translators, educational centres, publishers’ association, authors writing in the Galician language’s association, illustrators’ association and booksellers’ association. The current President is Manuel Figueiras.

Galtzagorri Elkartea

The Basque section: Established in1990 in San Sebastián aimed principally at promoting and raising awareness of children’s and young people’s literature in Basque. It was created using the formula of free association which reunites all the different sectors and agents, which circulate in the world of children’s and young people’s literature in Basque (professors, authors, illustrators, publishers, librarians and booksellers). Galtzagorri Elkartea is currently chaired by Asun Agiriano.